What’s going on with models these days?

28 Mar

If a genie granted me the wish of looking like any celebrity of my choice – I would chose Megan Gale. To me, she is the epitome of one seriously HAWT woman. She recently came out of her catwalk retirement to walk in a show for Alex Perry. Seeing her strut her stuff was like witnessing a one-woman-party crashing the sad and lifeless place that most catwalk shows have become. (Watch it here on youtube).  She looked strong, confident and sexy because she smiled, she wiggled her hips, she showed off cleavage galore, a lot of personality – and (gasp) proved that women over 30 can still be smoking hot babes. Most importantly, she made me covet every Alex Perry dress she wore. And, after all, isn’t that the point of a fashion show – to sell clothes. The image of her strutting down the catwalk has stayed with me for a couple of weeks as I wondered why fashion designers didn’t use more models like Gale.
Traditionally, I know they’ve said they use skinny models because the clothes hang better on them. But why the sad faces? Why the absence of personality? The absence of curves? I guess the theory is that they want the audience to focus on the clothes, not the models. But compare the photo of Gale to the photo at the end of this post of a model in Paris wearing a similar type of dress. Which one would you want to buy? But it seems I’m not the only one who’s uninspired by the current crop of top models. Today, I read that designer Herve Leger (who no longer stages catwalk shows) has been quoted as saying ‘If I had to go back to catwalk presentations I would be in a panic… Already the models I find are too skinny, too sad. I knew the age of the super top models, Linda Evangelista and Cindy Crawford, who were always lively and smiling. Today you go between several défilés and you will see the exact same type of girl – it just doesn’t inspire me.’ Interestingly, Herve Leger is famous for his ‘bandage’ dresses (see photo at end of post) which also accentuate a woman’s curves, similar to Alex Perry. So maybe it’s a case where designers who concentrate on making women look ‘womanly’ also aren’t afraid of using models who are life-like – that is – they look alive. I just don’t get why other designer like to use models who walk like robots? I mean, who aspires to looking like that?

Fergie in Herve Leger
Leave a Reply

