UPDATE – to Jackie O story below

29 Mar

Yesterday, I posted about my outrage over The Daily Telegraph’s inferred condemnation of radio personality and new mum, Jackie O, for bottle feeding her 3 month old daughter while crossing a road in Double Bay. Today the Tele has run a follow-up story giving Jackie’s side of the story. I for one think she should never have been put into a situation where she felt forced to explain her reasons for this. The way she parents her child is completely her business, and not the public’s. However, as you will see from the story below, it is just as I suspected – Jackie had completely understandable reasons for feeding her bubby on the street. So why didn’t the Tele talk to her BEFORE they published the photo? Well, you know the old saying – don’t let the facts get in the way of a good story.

RADIO personality Jackie O went on air yesterday to explain her motivation for bottle-feeding her newborn daughter while crossing a Sydney street.
While her breakfast show partner Kyle Sandilands took a swipe at Confidential, O explained she was feeding her baby on a Double Bay street because she was running late and her daughter was hungry. The 2DayFM star, who conceived baby Kitty following IVF treatment, admitted the street was not the “most ideal place” to feed an infant. “We were running late and Kitty was screaming and I knew I had to feed her because, you know, what else can you do? When your baby’s hungry your baby’s hungry and I pulled out my express bottle and I fed her … whilst walking,” she said. “I’ll be the first to admit it is not the most ideal place. Of course 95 per cent of the time I’m seated . . The last thing I would ever want to do is jeopardise her welfare.”She’s my No. 1. This wasn’t a busy road. There was hardly anything around. It was a pedestrian crossing on a leafy street.”

One Response to “UPDATE – to Jackie O story below”

  1. Anonymous March 30, 2011 at 3:19 am #

    Hey CassieI agree with you – too often we are critised for what we do. Many a time I have chased my toddler around the house with my other baby hanging off my boob!Sure crossing a road is not ideal – maybe she should have taken the bottle out of the babies mouth and let it scream for the few seconds she crossed the road and then fed it again on the street – but as a mother we all know when a baby is hungry you do whatever you can to make sure you feed your baby.Bily

Leave a Reply

