Cookies to cook with your kids

21 Jun

My toddler is mad for cooking at the moment. Mad for it. It’s doing my head in. She wants to help with everything. I used to enjoy the half hour round 6 ‘ish at night when my husband would get home and look after the kids, giving me a free 30 minutes to put the dinner on and listen to the radio. But ever since my little girl got the cooking bug, my relaxing half hour has all but disappeared. Cooking an adult dinner with a toddler is stressful – gas flames, sharp knives, hot ovens – it’s a recipe for disaster. But. And it’s with a capital ‘B’. I don’t want to discourage her.
Some of my fondest childhood memories revolve around cooking – mainly cakes. My cook books were my most thumbed and dog eared books. I had one disaster where my hair got caught in the mixmaster but mainly it was smooth sailing. So, I do want my daughter to share my enjoyment of cooking. There’s also the fact that, if I play my cards right and teach her well, in a few years time she should be able to cook the occasional meal for the family. Why not? I watched Junior Masterchef and was astounded by kids like 12 year old Pierre whose favourite meal to cook was herb crusted lamb cutlets with stuffed mushrooms and green beans. Pierre, when can we come over? Anyway, at the moment, I’m on the lookout for recipes that I can cook with my little girls – things that allow her to pour and mix and do the things that toddler can do. The bickie recipe below fits the bill. The original recipe is from a blog, Frills in the Hills, and included nuts, which I have left out to make it kid-friendly. We made them the other day. My toddler cracked her first egg! It ended up all over her face, my face, and with shell in the bowl. But that was the only disaster. Basically, I handled the melted butter and the measuring of the ingredients, she poured them in and then helped me shape the cookie dough into balls. It was messy, yes. But fun. The stuff memories are made of.

Ingredients

•1 and a half cups plain flour
•1/2 cup self raising flour
•1 cup firmly packed sugar
•2/3 cup quality cocoa (if you don’t want to use cocoa, add ¼ cup more plain flour)
•150gr melted butter
•2 eggs
•1 tsp vanilla extract
•200g chocolate of your choice, chopped up or in pieces
Method
1.Preheat oven to 180 degrees c.
2.In a bowl or mixer combine all ingredients with the exception of chocolate.
3.Mix through chocolate with a spoon or spatula.
4.Roll into balls around the size of a golf ball, place on a greased baking tray and flatten down slightly into a cookie shape.
5.Bake for 12 minutes or until cooked. Cool on tray.

Makes 24.

One Response to “Cookies to cook with your kids”

  1. Tracey June 24, 2011 at 6:04 am #

    Children of all ages love helping out in the kitchen. My 2 year old takes pride in washing the tomatoes/putting peelings in the bin/placing pre-chopped salad veges in the bowl. The 5 year old is in charge of washing up the plastic ware. The 9 and 10 year olds take turns helping with the hot items (and preventing the little ones gaining access)and can whip up a simple dessert with a hand bowl and wooden spoon (no need to worry about hair/fingers or tongues getting caught in the mixer. If children can read, they can cook pretty much independently and they just love the responsibility but not so much the cleaning up…

Leave a Reply

